Emerging Composers – Concert #1


Koans* – Kimberley Shepherd (b. 1988)
I. It Was a Wednesday
II. Before Studying Zen

Nathan Friedman, clarinet

Tidepool Variations – Liam Gibson (b. 1990)
I. Green Shore Crab (Hemigrapsus Oregonensis)
II. Sea Anemone (Actiniaria)

Chris Reiche, piano

Still Night* – Janet Sit (b. 1981)
A musical setting of Li Bai’s Still Night

Lynne Penhale, voice
Thomas Law, bass flute
Alex Klassen, cello
Chris Reiche, piano
Erik Abbink, conductor

Zanadu* – Adam Jasieniuk (b. 1991)

Thomas Nicholson, piano

HER&HIS/ZIG&ZAG – Nathan Friedman (b. 1989)

Lynne Penhale, trombone

Ansible* – Liam Gibson (b.  1990)

Alex Jang, mandolin
Alex Klassen, cello
Thomas Nicholson, viola

Existo in Animo* – Lynne Penhale (b. 1991)

Kimberly Shepherd, piano

Concert Venue & Parking

This concert takes place at Church of St. Mary the Virgin (1701 Elgin Rd, Oak Bay), which has its own parking lot, and there is ample free parking on surrounding streets.

[mapsmarker marker="2"]

Live Stream

This concert will be streamed live via our Live Webcast page.

Photo Update:

Below are photos from this concert. See the following page for all photos of the New Music Festival 2015: An impression in photographs